Admitting Defeat.

0801026148m.jpg

I’ve come to the end of my rope. After seven months of failed searching. I have succumb to defeat. Over the summer of 2006, I purchased Harold Hoehner’s amazing 960 page commentary, Ephesians: An Exegetical Commentary – the most detailed commentary on this letter to date. I had read nearly half of it and had reviewed it HERE

In June of 07′, my wife and I moved from Chicago to Moline, IL, where our parents live. We stayed there for a month before heading down to Dallas for grad school. At some point in that move the book disappeared. I have searched high and low both in Illinois and Texas without any success.

This is a disaster. with that commentary, I’ve lost hundreds of notes and comments I had written in the margins (in pencil, not pen) – ALL LOST – not to mention the fact that its $33…

If anyone wants to start a fund for replacing it, I’ll let you.

This stinks – there are few things worse than loosing books.

18 thoughts on “Admitting Defeat.

  1. Mike,

    Stay hopeful. I lost a Bible when I was 16 years-old and searched for it for years but could never find it. I had given up hope and then when I was 23 and my sister was moving, I found it in one of the drawers to her dresser.

    Brian,

    I know that pain well. My daughter ripped a few psalms out of my favorite Bible which eventually led to its falling apart completely a couple years later. And I can’t tell you how many books she teethed on when she was little.

  2. Been there, done that, Mike. My wife tells me not to give up: “It will eventually turn up.” But the fact that I can’t find the missing book makes me want it even more! Sometimes I have purchased a replacement, eventually resulting in two copies of the book.

    Now, how can we help you replace those penciled noted?

  3. Esteban, if you did that, I would love you forever.

    Wayne, I think the notes are gone – I had written them over about 150 pages or so on Ephesians 5…

  4. Oh man.

    Sometimes I think about what it would be like if our house burned down and my main Bible with all its notes and all my books were lost. I have to remind myself that it would be within God’s will.

    I also wonder if I get a new Bible (thinking about HCSB in 2009) if I would take the time to transfer the notes and highlighting. What would you do?

    I’ve recorded my small collection of books in Library Thing in case anything should happen.

    I think we should all pray for Mike to find it before we even think about replacing it.

    If someone buys you the book, do they have to put notes in it?
    Jeff

  5. Well, Mike, it sounds like, one way or another, the book will be replaced!🙂 But again, in case the fund efforts fail and the book doesn’t turn up, I’ll be sure to get in touch with you before I go to Grand Rapids to get you address and such, and I’ll find you another copy. Do not despair, my friend!

  6. Sorry about this, Mike. But I think it is a lesson to us all to back up our important work, whether on computers or in book margins. Of course book margins are hard to back up, which is a very good reason for making one’s notes on computer, or at least on sheets of paper which are easily photocopied.

  7. Wayne, no, I didn’t, but it doesn’t surprise me. I know that he wrote the Ephesians section for the Tyndale’s Cornerstone commentary using the NLT.

Leave a Reply

