A Difficult Book Decision

I received a $33 gift certificate from Westminster Bookstore today.

But I don’t really know what to do with it…

I’ve been eying Stephen Smalley’s Revelation to John: A Commentary on the Greek Text of the Apocalypse for several months now.

But…

I’ve also heard such amazing things about D.A. Carson and G. K. Beale’s Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament that I can’t help but wonder if I should get that!

Smalley’s commentary is $39 and I want to get it eventually.

Carson and Beale’s commentary is $33 and I also want to get it eventually.

In my mind, Smalley might be the higher priority, but I don’t have the extra money right now (particularly after shipping)…so I’d have to wait at least a month or so.

If I wait about 3 months for Smalley, I would be able to afford both of them – I think (you never know what might happen). But then, I’d still probably be able to afford Smalley in 3 months even if I do get Carson & Beale now…I don’t know.

Any suggestions guys?

NT use of the OT?

or Revelation to John?

6 thoughts on “A Difficult Book Decision

Leave a Reply

