Birthday Books!

Here are the books that I received on my birthday!

PICT0003

From left to right:

A Commentary on the Epistle to the Ephesians by Charles Hodge, 1856

Language Typology and Syntactic Description: Volume 1, Clause Structure edited by Timothy Shopen

The Theory and Practice of Translation by Eugene Nida and Charles Taber

Language Structure and Translation: Essays (Language Science and National Development) by Eugene Nida

Letters to the Thessalonians by Abraham Malherbe

A Woman’s Place: House Churches In Earliest Christianity

I also received from my parents a camera tripod, a 1GB SD card for my camera and the first season of Hogan’s Heros. All of which I’m incredibly excited about! I had been taking pictures with my camera on a 128MB card.

12 thoughts on “Birthday Books!

  1. Those look like some great books. I started A Woman’s Place a while back but never finished it. I found it really interesting and eyeopening but then it kind of started to drag in the later half and I lost interest. But what I read really changed my perception on the topic.

    Blessings,
    Bryan L

  2. Very nice. I have to admit I’m most excited for you about the 1GB chip, I can only imagine the pain you’ve gone through to date with the little one.😉

  3. Bryan, I’m excited about reading it!

    Nathan, it wasn’t horrible. My camera was 3.2mp, so I could fit 76 pictures on it and I generally would have them transferred to my computer before I filled it, but I’m excited because now I’ll actually have space for doing some decent movies.

  4. I’m sorry but 76 pictures is horrible, that is worse than my ignorant guestimate earlier. I was fortunate that my parents bought me a decent digital camera when my daughter was born, so I bought myself a 1GB and it’s been just barely large enough. Someday we will look back on this conversation and laugh…

  5. you have to understand, I’ve had this camera for three years. Its my first digital – which means that I was coming off of 27 picture rolls of film. 76 pictures is heaven!

  6. I’ve got a really nice Canon 35mm SLR that I used up until the digital. I honestly don’t think I’ve taken a single picture with it since. It doesn’t help that I’ve become really good with photoshop in the past year. Next up is a digital SLR, but I’m too cheap to get one yet, and the one we have works well enough.

  7. I had the Canon Digital Rebel SLR when it first came out, but we quickly realized that (a) it was overkill for 95% of what we were taking pictures of, (b) my wife would never take the time to learn how to use it, and (c) I didn’t have time to make the most out of the 5% of photos that it was great for.

    Fortunately I was able to resell it and the lens I’d acquired for minimal loss and we picked up a Canon A80 4mp point-and-shoot. That has been an awesome camera for our purposes. But most importantly, I bought several sets of rechargeable AA’s and two 512MB cards to use so we never run out of power or storage space.

  8. I have a regular SLR that I use much more than my digital. I’m not really sure why that is.

    I feel sort of old now. Like the guy who just refuses to give up something that’s obsolete haha.

  9. I have a Konica Minolta Dimage Z3. Its been a good camera for me – less than a full blown SLR (which I wouldn’t need) and gives me plenty more features than a typical point and shoot – particularly with the 12x zoom & 2cm macro.

  10. It’s hard to use 35mm anymore since you can’t edit the photos. With digital I can alter to my heart’s content. (sorry for hijacking your book thread Mike)

  11. no its fine, photography is one of my favorite hobbies – second only to librarianship-ing.

    I reorganize my bookshelves at least once a month.

Leave a Reply

