Books I Need to Finish

Following in the steps of Nick Norelli, here is a list of books I’ve started and intend to finish – and no, I’m not limiting it to ten (but neither am I listing everything!). So these are the top twenty books I want to finish this year! In no particular order…

  1. How Biblical Languages Work: A Student’s Guide to Learning Hebrew and Greek Silzer, Peter James
  2. Early Christian Mission Paul And The Early Church Schnabel, Eckhard J
  3. Language Typology and Syntactic Description: Volume 1, Clause Structure (Language Typology & Syntactic Description) Shopen, Timothy
  4. Biblical Exegesis in the Apostolic Period Longenecker, Richard N.
  5. Pauline Christology: An Exegetical-Theological Study Fee, Gordon D.
  6. Idioms of the Greek New Testament (Biblical Languages: Greek) Porter, Stanley E.
  7. Is There a Meaning in This Text? Vanhoozer, Kevin J.
  8. Discourse Features of New Testament Greek: A coursebook on the information structure of New Testament Greek Levinsohn, Stephen H
  9. Apostolic Fathers, The,: Greek Texts and English Translations Holmes, Michael W.
  10. Linguistics and New Testament Interpretation: Essays on Discourse Analysis Black, David Alan
  11. Bible Studies: Contributions Chiefly from Papyri & Inscriptions to the History of Language Deissmann, G. Adolf
  12. Light From the Ancient East or The New Testament Illustrated by Recently Discovered Texts of the Graeco-Roman World Deissmann, Adolph
  13. Rock Climbing: Mastering Basic Skills (Mountaineers Outdoor Expert) Luebben, Craig
  14. Polish Joke and Other Plays: Including Don Juan in Chicago, Ancient History, The Red Address Ives, David
  15. The Letters to Philemon, the Colossians, and the Ephesians: A Socio-rhetorical Commentary on the Captivity Epistles Witherington, Ben
  16. The Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Ephesians Murray, J. O. F.
  17. A Discourse Analysis of Philippians: Method And Rhetoric in the Debate over Literary Integrity (The Library of New Testament Studies) Reed, Jeffrey T.
  18. The Gospel of Matthew (New International Commentary on the New Testament) France, R. T.
  19. The Book of Proverbs: Chapters 15-31 (New International Commentary on the Old Testament) Waltke, Bruce K.
  20. Jesus and the Eyewitnesses: The Gospels as Eyewitness Testimony Bauckham, Richard

6 thoughts on “Books I Need to Finish

  1. I could add quite a few more to my list as well, but then it wouldn’t be a “top 10 list” — and also, I’m currently reading through some that I haven’t yet finished, and there are some that I don’t ever mean to finish.

  2. Mike, nice list. I’ve got several of them. Where did you get this one:

    How Biblical Languages Work: A Student’s Guide to Learning Hebrew and Greek

    I can’t find it on amazon.com

  3. So you found it then? Its published by Kregel. The ISBN is 0825426448.

    Its good. I’m half way through it. Its a basic survey of Greek and Hebrew. They give beginning students basic surveys of Greek & Hebrew phonology, morphology, syntax, and even a bit of discourse and semantics. It focuses on how Greek & Hebrew are different or similar to English.

    The book is also very basic – I’ve found myself skimming it through parts just because I think to myself, “Okay, I know that…I know that…” Its intended for the person who has had no training in phonetics or topics above. So in a sense, there’s nothing else like it in print.

Leave a Reply

