28 thoughts on “To Those of you Using WordPress:

  1. Once they work all the kinks out I’m going to love it. But in the post editor I’ve had problems with creating links, sizing pictures, etc. I’ve had to go into the HTML and fix everything the way I want it. But the new dashboard seems pretty user friendly and functional.

  2. I’m having a lot of trouble with my private blog’s dashboard – its not even showing up at all…

    But with this one everythings been working great.

  3. Honestly, it’s taking me a while to get used to it… but that’s after a year of zipping in and out of the old one. I do like the stats widget on the dashboard – it saves me an extra click to get my “hit count” fix.

  4. Not liking it. When I used Save using Ajax, it covered over the original Save and Publish buttons. I didn’t realize this until I removed Ajax.

    They changed Blogroll to Links. I was in the process of adding your blog (really) to my blogroll and and it took me forever to find that they changed the terms.

    I don’t mind change and I think the 2.5 upgrade adds some nice features but it’s also wasted a lot of my time.
    Jeff

  5. Yeah, Jeff, I noticed that too. I’m having a bit of trouble with a few things…

    Do I have you on my blogroll? doesn’t look like, I’ll add you, if I can figure it out!

  6. Ehh, it’s okay. I have only just started blogging though so I don’t imagine I’m having nearly the same issues as all of you old hands. What I’d really like is free CSS access😉

  7. Do I have you on my blogroll? doesn’t look like, I’ll add you, if I can figure it out!

    I’d be honored even though I don’t feel like mine would measure up. Don’t feel obligated just because I have you on mine.

    To add to a “blogroll” with 2.5 go to your Dashboard, then Manage, then Links. Then above all the links you’ll see Manage Links (add new), click on (add new). The last part seems obvious but it’s actually easy to miss.

    Looks like they’ve added quite a few extra options to this although I don’t use them so I’m not sure what they would look like.
    Jeff

  8. oh please, measure up? Of course! I may write a lot of academic esoteric posts, but that doesn’t mean you don’t measure up. At least people can understand what you write!

  9. I like it a lot. That’s not to say that I’m not still learning where things are a bit. I changed the color scheme back to the regular one.

  10. Scripture Zealot

    I don’t think you have to worry. Mike added me to the blogroll, and I never have anything to say that’s of use to anyone.

  11. Scripture Zealot

    I don’t think you have to worry. Mike added me to the blogroll, and I never have anything to say that’s of use to anyone.

    I looked at your blog and wasn’t board with the April 2 post at all.

    You’ve got me scared that I might be half emergent though.
    Jeff

  12. I looked at your blog and wasn’t board with the April 2 post at all.
    Yes, but is that made of wood? Or a collection of people? I can’t tell from the context…🙂

    You’ve got me scared that I might be half emergent though.
    Jeff

    Just stay away from using terms like “narrative.” It’s much too loaded, and we don’t want people to get intellectually involved enough to be able to understand that different sides can use similar terms.

  13. I just checked, the CSS isn’t free. The thing says:

    The CSS editor lets you modify the visual style of your blog. You can edit your CSS and preview the changes for free. If you would like the ability to save your changes and make your design visible to the public, please purchase the Custom CSS Upgrade.

    It’s a scam! Don’t be suckered in by the lure of apparently free crap that you really have to pay for!

  14. Sorry for getting your hopes up. I’m not sure how you misunderstood my comment, perhaps the line break?

    I think my main complaint is that I don’t like the new color scheme, so I’m going to go try to figure out how to revert to the old one like Bryan did.

  15. Yep. Dashboard -> top right corner click on your profile name -> then select the classic Admin Color Scheme.

  16. Yep, Nathan is correct. Sorry I didn’t pop back in. I’ve been away from a computer except just long enough to check the email and get back off.

Leave a Reply

