NT Exegesis & Russian Grammar

As of 1:45 this afternoon Central Standard Time, I’ll be TAing my very first class – AL 5324 Principles of New Testament Exegesis. This is an exciting day for me – something that I had hoped to do in college but never had time (i.e. one of my professors would have let me had I been around another semester). Now in grad school, I have the chance.

We’re going to be focused on 1 Peter – the letter that the professor wrote his PHD diss. on. So we’ll see what kind of discussions come out of the class.

I’m also beginning Field Methods and Field Data Management where I will be writing a 30+ page paper on Russian grammar and another on Russian phonology (i.e. the Russian sound system). So this will be a very busy next eight weeks, but also very exciting. The data management course focuses on learning how to use computational tools for managing and presenting phonological, textual and lexical data collected in linguistic field research – very exciting.

6 thoughts on “NT Exegesis & Russian Grammar

  1. I was hoping for some profound thoughts on how Russian grammar illustrates Greek and so informs NT exegesis. I’m sure there are insights like that to be found somewhere – maybe I need to find them.

    Well, here is one insight, not so profound, which I discovered while teaching Greek to Russian speakers, with Russian as a medium. In Greek masculine nouns ending in -as are almost all either foreign or abbreviated male personal names. In Russian (which loses -os and -s endings) masculine nouns ending in -a are almost all either foreign or abbreviated male personal names. The abbreviations even tie up very closely: in the NT we have Demas as an abbreviation for Demetrios; in Russian we have Dima as an abbreviation for Dmitri. But I had to apologise for a student called Dima for linking him with the biblical Demas.

  2. I hope you weren’t too disappointed. As I’m writing my Grammar sketch, I’ll look for some more…

    The similiarity between the names is interesting. When I was teaching ESL to Russians last year I worked with a Dima/Dmitri.

  3. This is an aside, but since I have an interest in 1 Peter can you provide me with the bibliographical information on the professor’s dissertation. Thanks.

  4. A Discourse Analysis of 1 Peter. Starwalt, Ervin Ray, PhD. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON, 2005. 226 pp. Advisor: Burquest, Donald A.

Leave a Reply

