21 thoughts on “In other news…

  1. Well done! They display in Firefox. But the font, Times New Roman, is not good: breathing marks are higher than accents, acute accent is wrongly rendered as vertical, iota subscript is not centred.

    The problem is that you are trying to do this in Times New Roman which has hopeless support for polytonic Greek. So you are trying to do this with combining diacritics, which work in principle, but not in practice with a font like Times New Roman.

    Try copying this text, with precomposed characters, into your header: ἐν ἐφέσῳ. Then set up the font as something like Gentium, Palatino Linotype or Arial Unicode MS which offers decent polytonic Greek support. To make sure everyone sees it properly, make these words into an image.

  2. Oh I already have Fire Fox 3 beta 5 on my laptop (windows) but I can’t get it in the repositories for Ubuntu at the moment, so I’m stuck with 2

  3. They show up in Firefox, with the details that Peter has noted. IE6 they don’t display properly either. What font did you use before, wasn’t it Gentium?

  4. What the heck. My IE6 is no longer displaying the Greek on your or my blog… Ugh, I thought I fixed this last month.

  5. Okay I just checked the page sources…

    With IE6, I can see all of the Greek on my blog that was posted before the WordPress update. Note that I was using HTML to change the font. All of the Greek posted after the WordPress update is automatically converted to XHTML and IE6 doesn’t recognize it!!!

    HAHA, this is insane.

  6. If you use the old HTML code of:

    font face=”gentiumALT” size=”3″

    WordPress now converts the code to:

    span style=”font-family:gentium ALT;font-size:medium;”

    I actually don’t have my book with me, so I can’t remember if it is XHTML exactly or CSS, but it changes to deprecated code to the newer stuff. I’m going to mess with it more later but I don’t like having control taken away.

  7. Yeah, that’s what I noticed too. I didn’t know what is was though. I just type it. I really don’t know anything about code. But I wish I did.

  8. span is an XHTML tag. Anything with style is generally CSS, so it converts the font tag, it just converts it to a inline CSS style. Though, because <span> won’t do anything without the style attribute with it, you could argue that it is part of the XHTML tag too.

    That may be the problem with IE. Because Microsoft refuses to be standards compliant, it can show some jacked up things (or not show at all) done with “standards compliant” CSS. Thankfully, this is changed in IE 7 where you can switch over to use a standards compliant form of the browswer, but I don’t think this is the default.

Leave a Reply

