A Question for my Readers

I am seriously curious about what you guys think of the most recent post from the Gender Blog:

Olympic Competition and Manhood and Womanhood, Part 3: Girls and Sports? A Matter of Principles

Its really hard for me to take a post like this seriously.

Now on this series in general, I could really appreciate (and I mean that) Part II.

Regarding Part I, its hard for me to understand why mothers cannot introduce such topics to discuss with the children. Even if one considers the husband to be the leader of the house, is not the wife over the children as well.

14 thoughts on “A Question for my Readers

  1. Simply put, all Biblical qualities that he refers to in describing femininity with the exception of the “weaker vessel” verse can just as easily apply to men as well as women. Last time I checked both gentleness and self-control are fruits of the Spirit expected of all believers, not merely women. And on “modesty,” the kind of modesty that Paul is referring to in 1 Tim 2.9 has to do with sexual purity and chastity, rather than modest dress or general behavior. Josephus uses it in describing the story of Joseph with Potiphar’s wife. The result is that the “modesty” of that verse is also a quality expected of men.

    For those reasons, I could just as easily argue that men shouldn’t play football either.

  2. I hate these things that have such varying degrees and are so subjective.

    I suppose he would say that gymnastics is feminine. But watch male athletes compete and they don’t look feminine to me. Maybe they do to others. So which is it?

    If a woman is gifted with strength should she abstain from being an Olympic weight lifter? Is there no use for that? What if she looks feminine? What if she looks masculine because of how she was created? What if she looks masculine lifting weights but is very feminine otherwise?

    How does one decide with all this? I would hate to have to analyze every sport to deem whether or not it’s appropriate for males and/or females.
    Jeff

  3. And as much as I’ve come to embrace masculinity, whereas I used to think women were just better people, and as much as I think men are sometimes undermined, that whole CBMW thing kind of gives me the creeps.
    Jeff

  4. Mike: So it was the biblical references that bothered you and not necessarily that he thinks girls should play girl sports?

    Jeff: Male gymists are probably pound for pound the strongest guys on the planet, but you will notice that there are certain different events in both men’s and women’s gymnastics. If we saw men competing in women’s events, then maybe they would look feminine.

    But I’m not creeped out by it because I can understand a father not wanting his daughter to play football or wrestle. I don’t know that the reasons would be the same for me as for the author of that post, but that’s another story.

  5. “if the bible has taught us anything (and it hasn’t), it’s that girls should stick to girl sports… Like jelly wrestling…”
    homer

    I do find the article a bit of a stretch: it just feels like a superficial and uncreative vision of femininity.

  6. Nick, males and females both compete in the floor exercise and both look what their genders should look like. I can imagine the men doing balance beam and parallel bars and still look masculine.

    I wasn’t creeped out by this article so much as the whole site. It seems like a lot of resources devoted to that whole subject when it’s just a small segment.

    I love hockey but would say that I’d rather watch men play it because I like the big bruisers. Which brings up another point: If women are wearing all that equipment it’s hard to tell if they appear feminine. So is hockey in or out for girls according to them?
    Jeff

  7. Todays post was much funnier and reminiscient of Mahaney’s wonderful “strategic clickery” sermon of last year. Today the author wrote,

    Nothing, apart from the saving work of Christ, is going to stop our culture from completely imitating the Greeks. In feminism’s quest for “equality” we have simply given ourselves over to the very thing we say we despise—objectification. But, we have an opportunity, during the Olympics, to teach God’s truths about manhood and womanhood.

  8. Maybe the author does not remember that for the Greeks only men competed and they didn’t where clothes at all. In fact, perhaps it is feminism which keeps us from imitating the Greeks to closely.

Leave a Reply

