Writer’s Block

I’m really struggling to decide what to write about. I really want to pick up blogging again, but my mind is blank. So until I come up with a topic, I figure I can write about not being able to come up with anything.

At this point, I suppose I could write about topics that I’m studying right now. Or perhaps also, books I’m reading/recently purchased.

What I’m studying:

Greek verb morphology is at present the forfront topic on my mind. And when I say that, I’m referring to inflectional morphology: person, number, tense, aspect, mood/modality. That kind of stuff. Is the system of six principle parts/tense forms the best way to organize the formal/morphological structure of the Greek verb? I don’t think I would have ever thought to even ask that question a year ago, but I am now. And trying to come up with something more accurate or at least more helpful.

I’m also growing more and more annoyed with certain a scholar. What previously seemed to me to be an impressive knowledge of secondary literature has become to appear to be the opposite. What looked like reasoned rejection of the views of others now seems to be the misunderstanding/misreading of other’s views (because of trying to read too much too fast?) I don’t know. I won’t just yet name names, because I hope I’m wrong and I prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt.

What I’m reading:

Okay, here’s the list:

The Morphology of Koine Greek: As used in the Apocalypse of St. John, A Study in Bilingualism by G. Mussies.

Its a Brill book. Its very nice to be close to a good library again!

Discontinuous Syntax: Hyperbaton in Greek by A. M. Devine & Laurence D. Stephens.

While technically dealing with Classical Greek, as far as I can tell, everything in it (so far) is just as applicable to the Koine period.

Biblical Greek Langugae and Linguistics: Open Questions in Current Research edited by Stanley E. Porter & D. A. Carson.

I’ve been meaning to read this book for a while. Silva’s chapter I’ve read before. Its excellent – as is just about everything Silva writes (though I must admit that I disagree with a few details in this particular paper).

As I go through it, I’ll get back to you on the other chapters.

Books I’m eying:

Well, I really want to have a copy of the Greek morphology book above, but I doubt that’ll happen unless I get a whole lot of Barnes & Noble or Amazon gift certificates.

In Biblical Studies, there aren’t too many more books that I’m really interested in and they’re mainly commentaries.

Genesis 18-50 (NICOT) by Hamilton (I have 1-17 and I need to complete the set).

Peter Enns’ commentary on Exodus

I’ve heard good things about THIS ONE.

But all of these are Old Testament.

I can really only think of two NT books that I’m interested in…

Moises Silva’s notes on Textual Criticism. Wow, these would be cool.

And last but definitely not least, Stephan Smalley’s commentary on the Greek text of Revelation.

Okay, so maybe a lot of this post eventually turned into a shameless attempt to get clicks to Westminster’s online bookstore. But hey, about 100 more clicks and I’ll be able to pick up those two. But I suppose I have through November to get’m though. Even still, maybe give one of those a click. Besides, they’re all very good books in their own right.

Its a long shot, but I’m tempted to give asking for a review copy from IVP a try for the last one…but it is an expensive book…I’ll get back to you on that.

13 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. I just clicked through to both of the NT books, though I know not how this benefits you.

    The Silva notes are part of his syllabi for separate classes in Biblical Greek and in textual criticism bound together. I don’t have them yet, but once I’m making the big bucks again, I’ll pick them up.😉

  2. By the way, that copy of Lampe fell through. I should have known it was too good to be true. But again, that’s okay too because I’ll have the library’s circulation copy checked out for the next 3 months.

  3. I’m still debating that one Tim, I don’t like to make highly critical statements about scholars when I’m not sure of the details. Particularly when its just as possible that I’m the one whose done the misreading.

    I’ll get back to you on that one.

  4. *laughing

    David, I’ll let you in on a little secret: You’re not the only one who thinks Greek is hard. Its tiring too.

    I’m only pushing through so that in five more years or so, I can read and speak at an intermediate level. Its a drive for fluency, man. And its a long road ahead…a very long road indeed…

  5. Oh wow, Mike! Thanks for letting me know about that! All my links shall henceforth direct to the WTS Bookstore.

    And re: the scholar, you can come out and say it. We all know it’s Caragounis. Who else would pick a fight with Silva but such a man as you describe?!😉

Leave a Reply

