On the Verge

If you haven’t noticed by the variety of short posts that I’ve written in the past couple days, I’m studying the Greek verb right now. I think I might be on to something, something never been done (at least not on the scale that I’m working on it)…I’ll get back to you all.

But on a translation note:

I was looking at the changes between the NLT 04 and the NLT 07 this evening (HT Rick). What struck me was this:

Genesis 2:5

2004 “neither wild plants nor grains were growing on the earth. ___ The Lord God had not yet sent rain to water the earth, and there were no people to cultivate the soil.”

2004 “neither wild plants nor grains were growing on the earth. For the Lord God had not yet sent rain to water the earth, and there were no people to cultivate the soil.”

Note: The “___” in the 2004 was added by me so that you could see this change better.

Its striking that they added the “for,” since its been discussed at length that such a construction is not natural English – at least not American English. I’ve been rebuked for it in the past in my Greek translations.

4 thoughts on “On the Verge

  1. In that case, I noticed that in the Beatitudes, HCSB uses because, which sounds very natural, but NLT for some reason uses for. From what I’ve seen so far they seem to be consistent with it though. Not that I’m one to judge translations.
    Jeff

  2. Well, at least they’re consistent. My experience (with translating Greek) has been that using “for” to translate γαρ (gar) has been so ingrained into my brain that its almost just a habit.

Leave a Reply

