Things I do when I’m not studying Greek: The Series

This post inaugurates a series on, well, things I do when I’m not studying Greek.

Today’s activity is one of my favorites: Food.

So what do I do when I am not studying Greek?

I make salsa.

PICT0575

There is nothing better than tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeños, onion, and whatever vegetables are on sale that week chopped up nice a tiny and thrown into a bowl together. Delicious! As you can see from the picture: 1) I need to clean my lens, and 2) carrots were on sale.

But on a really good grocery store run, I’ll find the super vegetable…

 

PICT0159

There are very few things on this planet that taste better than guacamole.

6 thoughts on “Things I do when I’m not studying Greek: The Series

  1. Delicious looking despite your lens. Now I see how it is that you can leave Texas–you take it with you. And don’t you find that Greek study is so much better with guacamole and salsa?

  2. I’m just disappointed that we didn’t have a chance to meet.

    One thing I miss from Texas is the selection of peppers. They only have jalapeños up here in the grocery store and the sign above them says, “Hot Peppers.”

  3. It basically consists of mixing and mashing whatever salsa I’ve just made with avocados. So: an unknown number of ripe tomatoes, a bunch or cilantro, two cloves of garlic, a bunch of green onion, one medium/large onion, 2-3 jalapeños, a bell pepper, sometimes carrots, generally a half a lime, a tiny bit of vinegar (not always), and a pinch of salt. thrown in with three or four mashed avocados until it tastes right. I always like to keep some good size avocado chunks in there too just for some variety.

    Its not a very scientific process, but it tastes good. I know what you mean about not lasting very long. Whenever we make it, guacamole & chips becomes dinner and then its gone.

    What’s your recipe?

Leave a Reply

