Dallas Theological Seminary & Discourse Analysis

Did any of you go to DTS for your MDiv or THM or whatever degree?

Did you know that whether you were actually told or not, you learned discourse analysis at DTS?

And I’m not talking about the joint program with GIAL for the Bible translation track or even Fanning’s class on Discourse Features of New Testament Greek either.

No, I’m talking about the methods DTS uses for teaching exegetical outlining for Biblical exposition. They’re actually based on early Wycliffe discourse analysis material from the 70’s & 80’s (it helps that the International Linguistics Center is only about 25 minutes away from the school).

That’s right.

And before you ask, the source of my information would know. He taught Greek at the seminary during the early 90’s while he was working on a degree.

2 thoughts on “Dallas Theological Seminary & Discourse Analysis

  1. One of the Profs at the Seminary I attended taught that – though I was not in the class at the time (I heard about it) but I think I learned a bit of it from the prof I worked with later.

Leave a Reply

