One thing Texas does better than BC

Mexican food. Hands down.

Specifically, torillas and avocados. The former are impossible to get unless you want “pesto garlic” tortillas or tortillas made from flax. And they’re all a foot in diameter too, so its pretty much impossible to make enchiladas with them and that my friends, is incredibly discouraging. If anyone in the Vancouver area knows where I can be real tortillas, I’d be very interested.

Avocados are available, but they’re too expensive up here for a poor student like me.

Now with that said, BC still wins (IMHO) simply because Texas is hot and brown. In the summer its hot enough that make things are brown from the sun and in the “winter” its brown becaus everything is dead and dormant. BC on the other hand is cool and green all the time.

To throw Chicago into the mix, Chicago beats Texas on both tortillas and avocados simply because of a certain store on North Avenue called Stanley’s where I regularly purchased avocados for $0.10 each at times and never more than $0.40 each. Back then, I was making guacamole sometimes twice a week!

Comparing Chicago and BC is more difficult because they both have traits that I love. There’s nothing like living downtown Chicago, while I’m presently in the suburbs of Vancouver. But BC has much more going for it in terms of the great out doors – Rockclimbing.com describes BC as “The poor mans [sic] Patagonia.” I need to figure some way to get both without killing my budget, which moving to downtown Vancouver would definitely do.

8 thoughts on “One thing Texas does better than BC

  1. Thanks for the tip on Stanley’s. My wife goes through avocadoes like water–so that could save us some money.

    And I agree, there is nothing like living in downtown Chicago. If the commute wouldn’t kill me, I’d still live downtown (even if it did mean losing 1000 sq ft of living space).

  2. Keith, the address is something like the intersection of Elston and North between the river and the interstate, I think. In general vegetables are all priced well (though I should tell you that the time they were ten cents each, we were cutting off bad parts).

  3. Robert, for the best Mexican food in Texas, you need to go the Rio Grande Valley, where you’ll also get the best grapefruit in the world. The Rio Star variety simply won’t grow anywhere else, they’ve tried.

  4. there aren’t enough characters allowed in this combox for me to list all the things that are better in Texas. I will therefore simplify it all into a math equation: Texas > Anywhere Else

Leave a Reply

