Feel Free to Skip Saturday’s Long Post

Tomorrow’s post will likely be difficult, if not impossible to read. Feel free to skip it.

But for those of you who are seriously interested in the challenges of Greek syntax, you probably won’t want to miss it.

Basically, as I mentioned earlier this week, I’m working on summarizing Devine and Stephens’ Discontinuous Syntax: Hyperbaton in Greek. Oxford, 1999, a book that is obnoxiously hard to read, but also very important for the study of the relationship between pragmatics and syntax in Greek.

I’ve decided that I might as well post each section online as I move through summarizing the more important sections of the book. I’m almost done with chapter one and I’m posting what I have complete. This particular post’s focus is only on the form of syntax with little reference to the meaning of discontinuity in Greek. That will come in time. When complete, it will appear as a PDF on my Greek Resouces Page.

Leave a Reply

