What I do when I’m not Studying Greek Part VII

I could very easily be challenge on this one, since its also something I do while I’m studying Greek. Even still, its such an important part of my daily routine that it deserves mention here. And besides, I do drink the stuff even when I’m not studying Greek.

PICT0719

Back when I was in college and then also when we were in Texas, my wife worked at Starbucks. Those of you who know someone who works at Starbucks already know that employees get a free pound of coffee each week. When we left Texas in June, we had collected more than 50 pounds of coffee and we gave away about half of it to family and friends in Illinois. In fact, until we moved to Canada, our cell phone was part of a family plan with my family, to whom we gave 1 pound of coffee a month as payment for it. It was a great system for the two years that we did it.

But this is all that’s left, about 14 pounds. At the rate we’re going, we’ll have to start buying coffee again in February or March.

17 thoughts on “What I do when I’m not Studying Greek Part VII

  1. Hallelujah! I don’t know what I’d do without premium coffee and my french press. I’m jealous of that package of Ethiopian Sidamo… I am really loving African coffees lately.

  2. Nathan: You should be more jealous of that “Espresso Regalo” on the left – that’s a half pound bag of Ethiopia Yergacheffe!

    I’ve been saving it for a special occasion.

    And yes, I only drink “pressed” coffee.

  3. Mmmm. The Regalo was good. But I felt that it was a little over-roasted, diminishing some of the complexity that you normally find in Yergacheffe. If your a fan of the east African coffees, you should try the new Sundried Ethiopian. It’s naturally processed leaving a strong cherry note in the flavor. It’s a little more expensive, but worth it.

  4. Ethiopia is a country with many coffee producing regions. You’ll find Harar (or Harrar), Yirgacheffe, Sidamo etc. Harar is typically dry processed and Yirg and Sidamo and typically wet processed. But lately the latter two have had some lots dry processed by the farmers (and I’ve even had a good wet processed Harar which is highly unusual) and some of them are spectacular. I don’t know if Starbucks (or Charbucks as us home roasters call them) has any available but it would probably be under a more specific name. I would look to the much higher quality roasters for some of these and make sure you’re getting coffee that has been roasted within about a week. Most goes stale and loses its origin flavor after about three weeks.
    Jeff

  5. I read on the Starbucks website after asking yesterday that their Black Label coffee for Dec. is the sun dried one.

Leave a Reply

