Morphological Parsing

They sometime say that in order to make a leap forward you need to take a couple steps back. Well today I did that. I basically restarting my Nominal morphological analysis from scratch. I’ve been having some problems with the parser returning results for a frustrating number of forms – including the Nominative Singulars of all things!

So I’ve completely reset the parser and am revising the forms essentially with a from-scratch analysis.

I’ll let you know how this goes.

By the way, I’m growing incredibly fond of excel spread sheets.

3 thoughts on “Morphological Parsing

  1. Mike, I think you’re well aware of how eager I am to see what you come up with. I do continue to think that the verb should be the more difficult task, what with all the different aorist types, the classification of voice forms, perhaps even the perfects that function as presens (such as οἳδα and ἕστηκα). I hope you will make your scheme public as soon as possible after you present your paper.

    1. I think its going to be a very long time before I get anything even remotely comprehensive done with verbs – and its not a task that I’m really looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

