New Greek Grammar!

I picked up a new Greek Grammar recently:

image
New Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin
by Andrew L. Sihler

720 pages of Oxford published of comparative grammatical delight!

Its not bound well – glue injection – but even still, there a whole lot of amazing information in here on both Greek and Latin morphology as well as Proto Indo-European. Much of the Latin I’m leaving to my wife, since she studied it for 4 years and I didn’t.

I’ll be reading through this and comparing it with what I’ve done in my Greek morphology parser over the next several months. Hopefully, there will be improvements made as a result.

11 thoughts on “New Greek Grammar!

  1. New? It was published in 1995; I taught out of it before I retired in 2001. The only reason that “new” is part of the title is that this book replaces a classic volument entitled, “Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin,” by C.D. Buck that was reprinted and used as a major resource for decades prior to Sihler’s fresh formulation of current thinking about the problems involved.

    On the other hand, I readily admit that an ancient Greek text that I’m looking at for the first time is “new to me.” We have a used furniture shop in town here that calls itself “Nu-to-You.” Seems reasonable enough.

    1. I hope that the fact you taught out of it says something of its value – even 14 years after it was new-to-everyone.

      When did Buck come out? 1920s? Comparatively, 1995 is still quite new in relation to Buck.

      1. I can’t find info online, but I think it came out in the late 30’s or earlier 40’s of the last century. Buck himself dataed from 1866-1955. The course was a graduate-level survey of comparative Greek and Latin grammar. I think it’s loaded with useful information — for reference, chiefly.

  2. Does the focus go beyond morphology to syntax and usage, or is the morp simply YOUR focus? Might be an interesting read now that I have more time on my hands.

    1. Well, I get the distinct feeling that “YOUR” is YOUR focus…

      The book mainly covers phonology and morphology not much else. What syntax there is seems to be passing comments on syntax usage. But its got a lot of background language information that will be helpful for other things. Its mainly going to be a reference to look to while working on FLEx… and Rachel’s really curious about it since she did four years of Latin.

Leave a Reply

