Perfect Imperative/Indicative?

So I come to the LXX of Joshua 10:19 and see:

ὑμεῖς δὲ μὴ ἑστήκατε καταδιώκοντες ὀπίσω τῶν ἐχθρῶν ὑμῶν.

I initially understood ἑστήκατε as a perfect indicative, which is exactly what it looks like. But then I saw that the NETS translates the word as an imperative, which actually makes significantly more sense in context. So then I began looking for information about perfect imperatives. I know, now, that on the rare occasion that they do occur they tend to be formed as periphrastics. But I also already knew there is a non-periphrastic in Ephesians 5:5: ἴστε. So, my question is this: when imperatives are formed via inflection, do they look like indicatives like we have with other periphrastics?

I’ve dug through Robertson as well as Moulton & Howard, but to no avail.

Thoughts? Comments?

UPDATE: It is an imperative: μὴ, which I should have noticed myself. The B-Greek list is awesome, both for real questions as well as for when my brain isn’t functioning.

6 thoughts on “Perfect Imperative/Indicative?

  1. ἑστήκατε would be a first perfect. My guess, for what it’s worth, is
    that ἑστήκατε is the translator’s intelligent guess at what the very-
    rare (viz. non-existent) non-periphrastic imperative of ἑστήκα ought to be, namely stem ἑστηκα- + 2 pl. imperative active ending -τε.

      1. FWIW, Accordance also has it as indicative 2 sg. pf. active. For my money, the only useful purpose served by parsing tags in GNT texts is the texts are rendered searchable thereby — so: if the tagging database is off, it vitiates the search and become like a misshelved book in a library. What a nuisance!

        1. I hear you. The Gramcord Database for the LXX based on CCATS has historically been extremely frustrating — and it’s what has been available in Logos up until only very recently. I’m looking forward to be getting a corrected text.

Leave a Reply

