And I turned to my wife and said, “This is us!”

If it wasn’t for the fact that she’s currently in the middle of her degree and right about to begin her thesis, I’d probably jump at this one:

Ancient Greek Literature, Pragmatics: Two PhD Student Positions, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Germany

Specialty Areas: Ling & Literature; Pragmatics; Ancient Greek Literature

Required Language(s): Greek, Ancient (grc)
Indo-European

Description:

Required language: English

Description: Within the Emmy Noether Program of the DFG (Deutsche
Forschungsgemeinschaft), Two PhD student positions are available for a
project titled ‘Pragmatic Functions and Meanings of Ancient Greek
Particles’. The project is funded for 3 years and, upon approval, for 2
more years. The research group will be led by Dr. Anna Bonifazi
(http://ifla.uni-stuttgart.de/index.php?article_id=121).

 

9 thoughts on “And I turned to my wife and said, “This is us!”

  1. Dear Mike,
    Wow – I just incidentally found your blog when googling a book – and it’s so strange to read that you were interested, back then, in what now is my job…!🙂 If you’re still enthousiastic about Greek particles, I could bring you into contact with the research group. You’re very welcome to come by and talk with us about particles and related topics, whenever you happen to be in Germany! I’m sure you have some ideas about them. And please keep me updated as well about your own research, I’m curious about that.

    Best wishes,
    Annemieke
    PhD student in the Emmy Noether project mentioned above

  2. Hi Annemieke,

    I’ve taken a little longer than I planned to reply to your comment. If we’re ever in Europe (and I’m sure we will), we’ll be sure to contact the group. My wife has ended up doing her research on middle voice–attempting to bring Rutger Allan’s research on Homeric and Classical Greek into the Hellenistic period and I’m currently working on predicate classes (in Role and Reference Grammar) in Josephus.

    I hope your research goes well!

  3. Hi Mike,
    Thanks for your reaction. How nice to hear that your wife has used the research of Rutger Allan: he was the supervisor of my Master’s thesis in Amsterdam (and he’ll also be speaking at the conference in September, by the way). It’s a pity you’re living so far away.

    There are again two PhD positions in ancient Greek available, this time in Leiden, the Netherlands: see http://www.ru.nl/publish/pages/612974/aio-plaatsen_spinoza_leiden.pdf (deadline is July 20th).

    1. Hi Annemieke,

      You wouldn’t happen to know Nick Bailey, would you? He completed his Ph.D. under Allan at the end of 2009 (Thetic Constructions in Koine Greek).

      Thanks for the tip on the two positions. This probably isn’t the year for us, but I regularly keep an eye on the Netherland’s programs. There’s more high quality Greek research coming out of there than just about anywhere else.

    1. Sigh. If I wasn’t knee deep in a thesis project as we speak, I’d probably jump at this opportunity. Right now we’re looking at being done with our current program in the summer of 2012.

      Thanks for this, though. I’ll be keeping an eye on the OIKOS National Research School over the next couple of years though. You have at least given us some direction for an excellent avenue for the future. Thank for you for that!

Leave a Reply

