Playing with My Parser

I’ve been playing with my Greek parser lately and I decided to annotate a few verses of text. I did Mark 1:1-2 with a free translation. Unfortunately, I haven’t yet determined how to simply copy and paste this and keep everything aligned in WordPress, so I’ve just done a screen capture instead. I also didn’t put too much effort into the translation.

Test – Mark 1:1-2

paragraph 1.

1.1. 1

Ἀρχὴ
*ἀρχὴ
*ἀρχὴ
beginning
n (P II) f
beginning
n
τοῦ
the
art
-οῦ
-ου1
gen.n.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
of.the
art
εὐαγγελίου
*εὐαγγελίο
*εὐαγγελίο
good news
n (P I) n
-ου
-ου1
gen.m.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
good news
n
Ἰησοῦ
*Ἰησ
*Ἰησ
Jesus, Joshua
nprop
-οῦ
-ου
gen.sg
n:Case/Num
about.Jesus
nprop
Χριστοῦ
*Χριστ
*Χριστό
anointed one; Messiah
n (P I) m
-οῦ
-ου1
gen.m.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
[the] Messiah
n

.
This is the Good News about Jesus the Messiah,

1.2. 2

Καθὼς
καθὼς
καθὼς
just as
advlizer
just as
advlizer
γέγραπται
γέ-
γέ-
stv
v:(???)
*γραπ
*γραφ
to write
vt:<S-A, O-T>
-^0
-^0
stv
v:Asp/(Tns)
-ται
-ται
mid.3.sg
v:Mid SubjAgr
[it] was written
vt:<S-A, O-T>
ἐν
ἐν
ἐν
in
prep
in
prep
τῷ
the
art
-ῷ
-ῳ1
dat.m.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
the
art
Ἠσαίᾳ
*Ἠσαί
*Ἠσαί
Isaiah
nprop
-ᾳ
-ῳ
dat.sg
n:Case/Num
Isaiah
nprop
τῷ
the
art
-ῷ
-ῳ1
dat.m.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
the
art
προφήτῃ
*προφήτ
*προφήτ
prophet
n (P II) m
-ῃ
-ῳ
dat.sg
n:Case/Num
prophet
n

.
just as it was written in Isaiah the Prophet:

1.3.

Ἰδοὺ
ἰδοὺ
ἰδοὺ
Look; Here +finiteV or NP in narrative
prt
Look!
prt
ἀποστέλλω
*ἀποστέλλ
*ἀποστέλλ
to send
vd:<S-A, O1-T, (O2-G)> ipfv
npst.act.1.sg.ind
v:Act SubjAgr
I am sending
vd:<S-A, O1-T, O2-Gl>
τὸν
the
art
-ὸν
-ον1
acc.m.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
the
art
ἄγγελόν
*ἄγγελό
*ἄγγελο
messenger
n (P I) m
acc.sg
n:Case/Num
messenger
n
μου
2
1st person
pers 1
-ου
-ου3
gen.sg
pers:Case/Num
1st person
pers
πρὸ
πρὸ
πρὸ
before
prep
before
prep
προσώπου
*προσώπ
*πρόσωπο
presence
n (P I) n
-ου
-ου
gen.sg
n:Case/Num
presence
n
σου
you
pers num***sg 2
-ου
-ου3
gen.sg
pers:Case/Num
you
pers

,

ὃς
*ὃ
*ὅ
who, which, what
Rel
nom.m.sg
Rel:Case/Gen/Num
who
Rel
κατασκευάσει
*κατασκευά
*κατασκευάζ
to prepare
vt:<S-A, O-T>
pfv.fut
v:Asp/(Tns)
-ει
-ει
3.sg.ind
v:Act SubjAgr
will prepare
vt:<S-A, O-T>
τὴν
the
art
-ὴν
-ην
acc.f.sg
det:Case/Gen/Num
the
art
ὁδόν
*ὁδό
*ὁδό
path, road
n (P I) f
acc.sg
n:Case/Num
way
n
σου
you
pers num***sg 2
-ου
-ου3
gen.sg
pers:Case/Num
your
pers

.
Look, I am sending my messenger ahead of you who will prepare your way.

8 thoughts on “Playing with My Parser

    1. The “stv” is Stative. I’m using the semantic values of the stem forms rather than the traditional labels. I know that whether the perfect is stative or not is debated, but I think it’s a valid possibility.

      With that said though, I need to go back and fix part of it – γέγραπται, as a M/P, most definitely does not take Subject-Agent, Object-Theme constituents (that’s the S-A, O-T).

      There are a few other small errors that I made on a couple other words too.

    1. Yeah, I’ve done quite a bit of work in building my database (started in May 08). Most of the work, though, has been background stuff — the pay off has only recently begun to materialize.

    1. At this point, I don’t know what’s going to happen with it. I’d like to make it available at some point though. When it will be ready for that…I don’t know.

      For the time being, its a tool for me to help me with my thesis project on Greek syntax.

    1. I love phonology assistant. Now I wish I still had my data for Russian! I don’t know how possible it would be for using it on Hellenistic Greek & written texts…but it’s a great program!

Leave a Reply

