Presenting at SBL 2010

In an unexpected turn of events, it seems that I will not only be attending SBL this month, but also presenting paper.

Not my own, mind you, no.

I’ll be helping a friend who, at the last minute, cannot coming to the meeting. All of this worked out rather well…all considering the circumstances. I’ve heard the presentation before and I’ve read a nice chunk of the relevant material he was to be presenting from his dissertation, as well as some of the linguistic literature on the subject. Here’s “my” session:

S20-110

Biblical Greek Language and Linguistics
11/20/2010
9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Room: International 4 – Marriott MarquisCynthia Westfall, McMaster Divinity College, Presiding
Paul Danove, Villanova University
A Comparison of the Usages of di/dwmi and di/dwmi Compounds in the Septuagint and New Testament (30 min)
Jonathan M. Watt, Geneva College
A Short Study of Greek Diminutives (30 min)
Francis G. H. Pang, McMaster Divinity College
Positioning the Future on the Tense-Modality Spectrum (30 min)
Nicholas Bailey, SIL International
A Construction Grammar Analysis of IDOU and IDE ‘Behold’ (30 min)
Byung Pill Choi, McMaster Divinity College
The Linguistic Dimensions of Speech for Analyzing Q (30 min)

It’s a very good paper and he does a good job with his subject. If any of you remember, I pointed out Nick Bailey’s dissertation online last winter, which is also extremely good. I met Nick this summer and enjoyed many excellent conversations about Greek grammar through July and the beginning of August.

3 thoughts on “Presenting at SBL 2010

  1. I’d love to grab a cup of coffee with you, Mike. I’m finishing up an M.Div at SBTS, applying to a Biblical Studies PhD program (LXX focused), a long time user of Logos, and I’ll be at ‘your’ session. Surely we could find something to talk about🙂

  2. I’m attending Sunday-Tuesday of SBL but, regrettably, will miss your presentation. That session sounds extremely interesting! This will be my first SBL experience. I’d love to have coffee though you’ll have to do most of the talking about Greek grammar:)

Leave a Reply

