Strange Apostolic Fathers Textual Variation

So I did this proximity search for places where the adverb πάντοτε occurs with a noun between it and the verb. In theory, this should never happen and still be grammatical. Anyway, my search did find one hit: Mandates 3.3 (28.3)

Οὐδέπω γάρ, φημί, κύριε, ἐν τῇ ἐμῇ ζωῇ ἀληθὲς ἐλάλησα ῥῆμα, ἀλλὰ πάντοτε πανοῦργος ἔζησα μετὰ πάντων, καὶ τὸ ψεῦδός μου ἀληθὲς ἐπέδειξα παρὰ πᾶσιν ἀνθρώποις· καὶ οὐδέποτέ μοι οὐδεὶς ἀντεῖπεν, ἀλλ ̓ ἐπιστεύθη τῷ λόγῳ μου.

Joseph Barber Lightfoot and J. R. Harmer, The Apostolic Fathers (London: Macmillan, 1891), 319.

Here’s Holmes’ more readable translation:

[N]ever in my life have I spoken a true word; instead, I have lived deceitfully with everyone, and have represented my lie as truth to all men, and no one ever contradicted me but believed my word.

Michael William Holmes, The Apostolic Fathers : Greek Texts and English Translations (Updated 2nd ed.; Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Books, 1999), 379.

But what caught my attention is that I have three digital editions of the Apostolic Fathers in Greek: Lightfoot, Lake, and Holmes, but only Lightfoot showed up as a hit.

Here’s the text of Holmes & Lake (they’re identical):

Οὐδέπω γάρ, φημί, κύριε, ἐν τῇ ἐμῇ ζωῇ ἀληθὲς ἐλάλησα ῥῆμα, ἀλλὰ πάντοτε πανούργως ἔζησα μετὰ πάντων, καὶ τὸ ψεῦδός μου ἀληθὲς ἐπέδειξα παρὰ πᾶσιν ἀνθρώποις· καὶ οὐδέποτέ μοι οὐδεὶς ἀντεῖπεν, ἀλλʼ ἐπιστεύθη τῷ λόγῳ μου.

Holmes, The Apostolic Fathers, 378.

In the Holmes and Lake, the word between πάντοτε and the verb is an adverb rather than the noun of Lightfoot’s text. And there’s no textual variant on this one.

Any ideas anyone?

[UPDATE] Its been confirmed by Esteban that this is the reading Lightfoot has in his book. It is not a digital error. Rick believes that “codex Athous is the primary witness here.” Though I’ve been unable to check that. I’m wondering if my access to some of the books on Google books is prevented in Canada, the book he’s referring to doesn’t have a preview for me, but that doesn’t make sense because this book should be public domain.

[Final UPDATE] It is clearly an OMEGA in transcription of Codex Athos (thanks must go to for Rick this):

clearly-an-omega