Required Reading in Biblical Studies

You would do well to spend a few moments reading Steve’s post this morning. He makes some excellent points about research generally and presenting papers specifically. His examples come from the the Verbal Aspect debate as well as his own observations about the in ways linguistics has made into NT studies more generally.

In terms of my own thoughts on the subject, I don’t have much to add to what Steve writes – mainly because my interests significantly overlap with his.

I think that at times, I’ve been guilty of being more interested in being right than recognizing my mistakes – though with blogging, a number of them are caught pretty quickly by people like Peter Kirk. There are plenty of others who have done this too. I single Peter out because he has been commenting and pointing out errors almost since the beginning of this blog well over a year ago now. He keeps me humble and has provided great dialog that I hope has been beneficial for both of us.